Drew Community  

Go Back   Drew Community > General Forums > Technology Discussion
uLogin ID  
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2011, 06:34 PM
Ernest J. Wawiorko Ernest J. Wawiorko is offline
Squirrel
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 13
Default word could not create the work file - check the temp environment variable

word could not create the work file - check the temp environment variable


This is the message I get when I open Microsoft Word 2007. As a result, I cannot save any new documents.

Help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2011, 08:09 AM
Krista White's Avatar
Krista White Krista White is offline
Ranger Cub
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 65
Default

Earnest,

Can you tell us a bit more about the issue? Are you using a Drew-issued Mac or a Drew-issued PC?

If you are using a Drew-issued Mac, did you move the MS Office folder or the icon for Word to the desktop?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2011, 09:38 AM
Betsy Black's Avatar
Betsy Black Betsy Black is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: South Orange, NJ
Posts: 99
Default

The Drew computer assigned to you is the senior model Lenovo Thinkpad T400 that has not been reimaged since you received it in 2008. That means it is still running Windows Vista, which CNS stopped supporting in 2009. Your best bet may be getting a system volume reimage to Microsoft Windows XP Professional, which preserves the I: drive, the default for where user data is saved.

I did find this fix online; however, please note that any programs that alter the registry could have adverse affects on the system. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/822005 , and I still recommend imaging the computer to Microsoft Windows XP Professional (free) or Windows 7 (a $6 fee for media disks with a product key you'll need to enter after graduation).

Please feel free to contact the helpdesk at x3205 with any questions.
__________________
Manager, User Services
Computing & Network Services
Library 131
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2011, 09:54 PM
Ernest J. Wawiorko Ernest J. Wawiorko is offline
Squirrel
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 13
Default

The problem seemed to go away for a few days but is happening again.

I'm using the t400 lenovo computer - Drew issues.


This reimaging - should I just bring the computer to CNS and ask them to reimage it for me?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2011, 09:31 AM
Betsy Black's Avatar
Betsy Black Betsy Black is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: South Orange, NJ
Posts: 99
Default

Yes. Please make sure you have all your data backed up in case there is a hardware issue and a system volume reimage is not sufficient. Call the help desk at x3205 if you have any questions.
__________________
Manager, User Services
Computing & Network Services
Library 131
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.5.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Drew University is not responsible for the content of posts made on this site. All posts and comments reflect the opinion of the author.