Drew Community  

Go Back   Drew Community > General Forums > Technology Discussion
uLogin ID  
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2009, 01:25 PM
Geoffrey N. Pollick Geoffrey N. Pollick is offline
Young Squirrel
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default New Firefox not displaying Drew pages

When using Firefox 3.0.8, no Drew pages are displayed. Instead, an information alert notes, "This site does not support HTTPS. Please try again using HTTP." Does anyone know how to adjust the protocol so that the pages load with http, rather than SSL?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2009, 01:33 PM
Paul Bertolini's Avatar
Paul Bertolini Paul Bertolini is offline
Squirrel
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Which is why it is a great time to switch to google chrome. Trust me, it's better.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2009, 02:06 PM
Kirstin E. Bethavas Kirstin E. Bethavas is offline
Ranger Cub
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 45
Default

Better or not, Firefox is still the officially recommended/supported browser at Drew, so it's something that should be addressed. Thanks for mentioning it - I've been putting off upgrading and now I know not to =]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2009, 02:24 PM
E. Axel Larsson's Avatar
E. Axel Larsson E. Axel Larsson is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Madison, NJ
Posts: 303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirstin E. Bethavas
Better or not, Firefox is still the officially recommended/supported browser at Drew, so it's something that should be addressed. Thanks for mentioning it - I've been putting off upgrading and now I know not to =]
There isn't a general problem with 3.0.8 that we are aware of. We have people using it without issue.
__________________
E. Axel Larsson
Systems Architect and Director of the Enterprise Technology Center

Last edited by E. Axel Larsson : 04-06-2009 at 02:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2009, 02:29 PM
E. Axel Larsson's Avatar
E. Axel Larsson E. Axel Larsson is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Madison, NJ
Posts: 303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoffrey N. Pollick
When using Firefox 3.0.8, no Drew pages are displayed. Instead, an information alert notes, "This site does not support HTTPS. Please try again using HTTP." Does anyone know how to adjust the protocol so that the pages load with http, rather than SSL?
http://www.drew.edu/ does not answer on HTTPS because it is a public web site, so there is no sense in encrypting the traffic. Your login and any secure applications -- like CampusWeb and WebMail on the other hand require HTTPS.

It has always been the case that going to https://www.drew.edu/ would give you that message, so I am confused as to what changed.

Are you saying that if you try to go to http://www.drew.edu, it redirects to https://www.drew.edu and then you get that message? or are you trying to go to https://www.drew.edu?

What about other web sites? When you go to google.com, does the address bar show http:// or https://?

What extensions do you have installed in your browser? (Go to Tools > Add-Ons). Try disabling each one to see if one of them is triggering this behavior.
__________________
E. Axel Larsson
Systems Architect and Director of the Enterprise Technology Center
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-06-2009, 03:55 PM
Geoffrey N. Pollick Geoffrey N. Pollick is offline
Young Squirrel
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default

yes, going to http://www.drew.edu redirects to https://www.drew.edu and displays the error. this started happening out of the blue, after an automatic firefox update.

the only extension i have installed is Zotero, the bibliographic citation database.

disabling Zotero allowed the Drew pages to load, and after re-enabling Zotero, the pages also load fine.

thank you for help with this odd occurrence.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-06-2009, 04:38 PM
Dorothy A. Meaney's Avatar
Dorothy A. Meaney Dorothy A. Meaney is offline
Young Squirrel
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default single sign-on glitch?

Is this happening on machines where single sign-on is enabled? We have a few new machines in the library where this has been pre-installed and need to know if this is going to be a problem.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-06-2009, 05:20 PM
E. Axel Larsson's Avatar
E. Axel Larsson E. Axel Larsson is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Madison, NJ
Posts: 303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dorothy A. Meaney
Is this happening on machines where single sign-on is enabled? We have a few new machines in the library where this has been pre-installed and need to know if this is going to be a problem.

Thanks.
If you have SecureLogin working with Firefox 3 currently, then it will continue to be supported with Firefox 3.0.8.

The original release of SecureLogin that we were offering did not work with FF 3. If you are still using Firefox 2 with SecureLogin, it is possible you might need a SecureLogin update as well when you go to Firefox 3. You can update SecureLogin from the Application Explorer.

Unfortunately, both versions show as SecureLogin 6.1 (the hotfix number doesn't show), os it isn't really easy to tell if you have an NSL version that supports Firefox 3. The easiest thing to do is to update Firefox and then update SecureLogin only if single-sign-on stops working for you.

For testing, SecureLogin does show up as its own Firefox extension. If you go to Tools > Add-Ons, you will see the SloMoz extension listed. You can temporarily disable this if you suspect whatever Firefox issue you are seeing might be related to SecureLogin. I've seen plenty of Firefox problems caused by extensions, but haven't observed or heard of much being caused by the SloMoz extension.
__________________
E. Axel Larsson
Systems Architect and Director of the Enterprise Technology Center

Last edited by E. Axel Larsson : 04-06-2009 at 05:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-06-2009, 05:27 PM
Dorothy A. Meaney's Avatar
Dorothy A. Meaney Dorothy A. Meaney is offline
Young Squirrel
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Great; thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-07-2009, 09:32 AM
John D. Muccigrosso John D. Muccigrosso is offline
Junior Drewid
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dorothy A. Meaney
Is this happening on machines where single sign-on is enabled? We have a few new machines in the library where this has been pre-installed and need to know if this is going to be a problem.

Thanks.
What happened when you tested this configuration?

FWIW, I don't see this happening with FireFox on OS X.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.5.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Drew University is not responsible for the content of posts made on this site. All posts and comments reflect the opinion of the author.