Drew Community  

Go Back   Drew Community > General Forums > Technology Discussion
uLogin ID  
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2010, 11:20 AM
Virginia F. Cooper Virginia F. Cooper is offline
Young Squirrel
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default Wifi abroad. HELP PLEASE?

Hello,

I am studying in France and trying to connect to my host family's wifi so I can skype with my family. There are internet is protected with a code. I have the code, but somehow I still can't connect.

When I tried to go into the settings through thinkvantage for this wireless channel (sorry if that's the wrong word), I am not sure where to enter the clé wep (wep key?).

So I tried to reset my computer to find wireless through the control panel >network and internet connections> network connections area. (I went into change advanced settings and clicked "use windows to configure my wireless settings.) When using that, it does ask me for a code, but it runs it and nothing happens. Did I do something wrong?

Do wep key go in with capital letters? Do I input the spaces?

Thank you for answering any of my many questions.

Farrar
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2010, 12:02 PM
Destiny N. Nelson Destiny N. Nelson is offline
Ranger Cub
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hackettstown, NJ
Posts: 31
Default

Everything you did was correct. You can try uninstalling Access Connections in Control Panel->Add/Remove Programs. Then try to use Windows to connect. If it still doesn't work, you will need to speak to your host family to see if they have MAC filtering or any other settings on their router.
__________________
Software Support Specialist, Computing and Network Services
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2010, 12:45 PM
Virginia F. Cooper Virginia F. Cooper is offline
Young Squirrel
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default

When I use windows to try to connect, it tries for a while, then the screen with all the possible wireless networks in the area goes blank and it says something like "searching for wireless networks" before going back to the screen that was before (with a lock on my host family's wifi and me on my neighbor's wifi).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-13-2010, 12:57 PM
Destiny N. Nelson Destiny N. Nelson is offline
Ranger Cub
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hackettstown, NJ
Posts: 31
Default

If you're able to connect to someone else's wireless, your computer is not likely to be the issue. Unfortunately, we can not access your host family's wireless, so we can't check the settings. However, there are various security settings that can be stored in a router to prevent others from connecting. Most likely, your host family has some security settings on their wireless. Their neighbor has unsecured wireless, which is why you are able to connect.
__________________
Software Support Specialist, Computing and Network Services
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.5.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Drew University is not responsible for the content of posts made on this site. All posts and comments reflect the opinion of the author.