Drew Community  

Go Back   Drew Community > General Forums > Technology Discussion
uLogin ID  
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2008, 02:24 PM
Matthew G. DiLiberti
 
Posts: n/a
Default Windows Sidebar

Why is the windows sidebar disabled on all the laptops? Even when I just log on to the computer, not the drew network, and run sidebar as administrator, it stills says the adminstrator has disabled access? Just wondering if this was intentional or unintentional, and if so, why?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2008, 02:34 PM
Russell W. Sprague's Avatar
Russell W. Sprague Russell W. Sprague is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 130
Default

The sidebar is intentionally disabled, due to its inordinate consumption of resources. If you wish to re-enable it, there's a registry key I provided in this thread which will work.
__________________
Russell Sprague
Enterprise Applications Administrator and Consultant

the Enterprise Technology Center
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2008, 12:39 AM
Gregory R. Everitt's Avatar
Gregory R. Everitt Gregory R. Everitt is offline
Junior Drewid
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 65
Default

Do you mean network resources? Because I can understand if they disabled it for that purpose, but if we want to waste our own resources and enable the thing, wouldn't that be our choice?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2008, 10:23 AM
Paul R. Coen's Avatar
Paul R. Coen Paul R. Coen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Madison, NJ
Posts: 140
Default Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregory R. Everitt
Do you mean network resources? Because I can understand if they disabled it for that purpose, but if we want to waste our own resources and enable the thing, wouldn't that be our choice?

Yes, that's why Russ provided the registry key in the discussion thread he linked to. But we have it turned off by default, because it can chew up a significant amount of RAM. Given Office, Firefox or IE, other utilities on the system, and the amount of memory Vista uses all by itself, we turned it off. In testing, we saw the sidebar consume significant amounts of memory. If you want to use it, again, go ahead and turn it on. You'll just have less memory available for other applications. That may not be a problem, depending on how and for what you use your computer.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.5.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Drew University is not responsible for the content of posts made on this site. All posts and comments reflect the opinion of the author.